Works Enduro Rider
 (908) 637-6385

 

 

 

 

We interviewed WER rider Andrew Gross today and here is what we found out:  

 

Q.- Hello Andrew, tell us a little bit about yourself. 

A.-  I am 14 years old and live in Hancock, NY. Besides my Mom and Dad, I have 3 brothers, 1 sister and a cat named Buster. 

 

 

Q.- What is your current ride? 

A.- I just moved to a KTM 105sx from a KTM 85xc. 

 

 

Q.- What are your racing accomplishments so far? 

A.- 2011 and 2012 AMA East National Hare Scramble Champion in the 12-15, 85cc class; 2011-12 Square Deal Riders Mud & Snow series Mini A Champion; 2009-10 SDR Mud & Snow Mini B Champion; 2010-11 SDR Mud & Snow Mini A, 3rd place; 2012 WNYOA series Mini Jr. A, 4th  place; 2010 WNYOA Mini B, 3rd place. 

 

 

Q.- Racing takes a lot of time and commitment. What is your schedule like and how do you manage racing with your other obligations?  

A.- I usually come home from school, get a snack and then get right to homework. Mom and Dad expect me to be on Honor Roll. After homework, I usually ride or weight lift or some other activity before supper. I am Catholic, so we always go to Mass together on Saturday night if I have a race on Sunday. I have mowing jobs to keep up with too. That way I have extra money for parts & stuff. 

 

 

Q.- How did you get into off-road racing? 

A.- We moved next to the Bear Creek Sportsmen club when I was little. We went to one of their events and I really liked it. For my next birthday my parents got me a JR50. The guys in the club helped to teach my dad and I a lot about riding and racing. 

 

 

Q.- Tell us about your first race? 

A.- It was at the Square Deal Riders Mud & Snow Scrambles. I was on a DRZ70 and there was about a foot of snow. I was really nervous. I don’t even remember how I did.  

 

Q.- Why WER for your suspension? 

A.- My bike handles so much better in the woods after Drew has worked on the suspension. It soaks up the rocks and roots better than a stock motocross suspension. Plus they give really good advice about set-up and just about racing. 

 

 

 

 

Q.- Do you ride out of any particular club? 

A.- My dad is a member of the Bear Creek Sportsmen, so I guess I’d say them. 

 

 

Q.- Do you have hobbies besides riding? 

A.- I like to go hunting and fishing and playing football and basketball with my brothers. 

 

Q.- Favorite rider? 

A.- Ryan Dungey. 

 

 

Q.- What are your goals for the future? 

A.- I’d like to win the WNYOA youth overall next season and maybe do the whole GNCC series next year; Also to pick up more sponsors. Someday I want to go to college.  

 

 

Q.- Who would you like to thank for their support? 

A.- My parents, my Uncle Bill at Signs, etc. for all of the good graphics, Chris Smith for helping me to get faster, Dave Verdetto and of course WER.